Quick Links


The Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs Authority (MCCAA)

The Board of Governors is the main organ of the Authority. The Board shall be composed of not less than seven and not more than ten other members, to be appointed by the Minister.

The executive function of the Authority rests with the Chairperson.

The functions of the Authority shall be the following:

  1. to promote and enhance competition;
  2. to safeguard consumers’ interests and enhance their welfare;
  3. to promote voluntary standards and provide standardization related services;
  4. to promote the national metrology strategy;
  5. to promote the smooth transposition and adoption of technical regulations; and
  6. to perform such other function that may be assigned to it under this or any other law or regulations.

These functions shall be vested in the respective entities which are headed by a Director General as follows:

  • The Office for Competition - Mr Godwin Mangion (info@mccaa.org.mt)
  • The Office for Consumer Affairs - Ms Josephine Borg (info@mccaa.org.mt)
  • The Technical Regulations Division - Mr Edward Xuereb (info@mccaa.org.mt)
  • The Standards and Metrology Institute - Ing. Francis Farrugia (standards@mccaa.org.mt)

Composition of MCCAA Board of Governors is:

ChairpersonIng. Helga Pizzuto
Deputy Chairperson Mr John Abela
MemberMr Benny Borg Bonello
Member Mr Mario Cassar 
MemberProf. Joe Falzon
MemberMr Reginald Fava
MemberProf. Anthony Serracino Inglott 
MemberMs Anna Spiteri
MemberMs Sylvana Civelli
MemberDr Maria Briffa
MemberDr Bridgette Sultana



Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs Authority (MCCAA)
Mizzi House,
National Road
Blata l-Bajda HMR9010
e-mail: info@mccaa.org.mt
tel: +356 2395 2000